Metformin Tablets

Metformin Tablets

Question

My cousin is a diabetic and has been taking Metformin tablets until he found out that it is film coated. One of the ingredients of the film coating is Magnesium Stearate. The Stearate component is Fatty Acid. In a Daily Mail article, the Fatty Acid part was described as being of animal origin. SANHA has listed Magnesium Stearate as a substance of doubtful halal status. For this reason, he has stopped using this tablet and has not been able to find an alternative. Is it permissible for him to take this tablet? (This question is from Malawi)

Continue reading